Joint Committees

Joint Committees (one for Cumberland and one for Westmorland and Furness) will be established and each one will have 12 members - three from Cumbria County Council, three from each of the district councils in that area. So, in total 12 members each.

Joint Committees are responsible for the preparatory work to establish the Shadow Authorities and overseeing the implementation planning until Shadow Authorities are elected. The Joint Committees will be dissolved once the Shadow Authorities and Executives for the two new councils are established.