Future for Cumbrian councils

What is LGR?

From 1 April 2023 local government in Cumbria will change. The current six district councils and Cumbria County Council will be replaced by two new unitary authorities.

Government announced its decision to create two new unitary councils in July 2021. Since then work has been ongoing to develop and implement a transition plan.

All seven local authorities, supported by the Department for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities, are collaborating on the complex operation to create the two new authorities. This entails a considerable amount of work to ensure that people in Cumbria receive the high level of service and delivery they expect and deserve.

All those involved in leading this project are committed to ensuring that local people are kept fully informed and engaged in this process as we move towards April 2023.

This website explains the transition programme that will move us from seven councils to two new unitary councils. It doesn't set out the priorities or operating models for the two new councils as they will be decided once the councils are elected.  

This website will hold all the latest public information on that work and the next steps, so please return regularly for updates.

How will it look?
How will it look?
From 1 April 2023 two unitary authorities will provide all the services currently provided by district councils and the county council.

There will be one new council covering the current area of Allerdale, Carlisle and Copeland, the council's name will be Cumberland Council. 

A second new council will provide services to those in the current areas of Barrow, Eden and South Lakeland, the council's name will be Westmorland and Furness Council.

The number of Councillors each council will have: 

  • Cumberland will have 46 members.
  • Westmorland and Furness will have 65 members.